International Geomagnetic Reference Field: the twelfth generation

Research areas:
  • Erwan Thébault
  • Christopher C. Finlay
  • Ciaran Beggan
  • Patrick Alken
  • Julien Aubert
  • Olivier Barrois
  • François Bertrand
  • Tatiana Bondar
  • Axel Boness
  • Laura Brocco
  • Elisabeth Canet
  • Aude Chambodut
  • Arnaud Chulliat
  • Pierdavide Coïsson
  • François Civet
  • Aimin Du
  • Alexandre Fournier
  • Isabelle Fratter
  • Nicolas Gillet
  • Brian Hamilton
  • Mohamed Hamoudi
  • Gauthier Hulot
  • Thomas Jager
  • Monika Korte
  • Weijia Kuang
  • Xavier Lalanne
  • Benoit Langlais
  • Jean-Michel Léger
  • Vincent Lesur
  • Frank J. Lowes
  • Suisan Macmillan
  • Mioara Mandea
  • Chandrasekharan Manoj
  • Stefan Maus
  • Nils Olsen
  • Valeriy Petrov
  • Victoria Ridley
  • Martin Rother
  • Terence J. Sabaka
  • Diana Saturnino
  • Reyko Schachtschneider
  • Olivier Sirol
  • Andrew Tangborn
  • Alan Thomson
  • Lars Tøffner-Clausen
  • Pierre Vigneron
  • Ingo Wardinski
  • Tatiana Zvereva
Earth Planets Space
The 12th generation of the International Geomagnetic Reference Field (IGRF) was adopted in December 2014 by the
Working Group V-MOD appointed by the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA). It updates
the previous IGRF generation with a definitive main field model for epoch 2010.0, a main field model for epoch 2015.0,
and a linear annual predictive secular variation model for 2015.0-2020.0. Here, we present the equations defining the
IGRF model, provide the spherical harmonic coefficients, and provide maps of the magnetic declination, inclination,
and total intensity for epoch 2015.0 and their predicted rates of change for 2015.0-2020.0. We also update the
magnetic pole positions and discuss briefly the latest changes and possible future trends of the Earth~s magnetic field.